OK, another night, another transit issue

First,  I did forget to check the last time for the bus back.  My bad.

Second,  I get to put some blame on the town of Stevenage and the  Arriva public transport company for having two bus stops with the same damn name. See,  in normal countries,  bus stops going different ways will either have different names or the same name with an indication of like  ‘east/west/north /south’…. but not Stevenage,  oh no,  they used the same name. So when I was able to look up the bus time and see “now”,  look up and lo and behold,  there is the bus across the street and I can’t get over to ask.

Fine, the app also said the next bus is in 17mins. Still don’t know which side so I kinda positioned myself on one side where I could see well enough either way to be able to flag the bus down. Of course it comes to the stop I expected to go to the first time. So it seems the bus does a loop. Still, kinda annoying that I had know way of knowing.

Should I mention that there was a phone number for info to call but when I did, I got some stupid automated message saying I didn’t have enough minutes! Seriously, I’ve had this temp phone for two days, sent a couple of texts but never made a call. Ugh. Now I have to go to the mall and talk to the guy who set me up and find out why. I mean, I saw the confirmation for 100 minutes of phone time. Stupid.

Oh, the fun hasn’t stopped yet!

I get on the bus, get to the town centre and go to the stop I was dropped off at when I got here. Hmm, well I know the phone number listed is useless to me…. So, online I go. I go to the bus company website and search for a time schedule. I was confused at first but then I realized…. The next bus is 7am the next morning. Sigh. So, now a hotel seems the only recourse. I try Google maps once more.

I’m in luck, there is a train that I can grab and after a few changes, get home. Oh I’m looking at just over 2hrs to get home (have to go into London and then switch to go out again) but at least I’ll get home again.

But wait….. there’s more!

While I was wandering around I kept being asked if I was here for the concert. Oh you know where this is going don’t ya? I’ll give you 3 guesses when the concert finished, and the first two don’t count. That’s right, the train station was nicely packed. Luckily they announced an extra train and I just prayed to get a seat. I was in luck and I got a seat.

Now, let’s try that crazy platform switching again shall we? I’ll update again of I don’t make it home.

Update :

I must be getting used to this as I sale to find someone who pointed me in the right direction for once and then I recognized the station area. So, train in 20mins to my town. Then it’s only a 5min walk. :)

Update 2:

Met a couple of cool people on the train from London to Luton. Had an awesome chat about England and things to see , world traveling and such. When they got off, thats when I realized I left a bag that I had, with some stuff that I bought back in London at the train station on the bench beside me. Sigh. I’ll see about camping lost and found in the morning. Nothing really expensive, just annoying at this point.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

Leave a Reply

