Korean Post office

Ok, this is a good one.

At some point this morning I realize we are out of milk for the coffee I just made.  Ugh.  It’s like 11:35am.  I head over to the store, buy the milk and come back.  I’m gone a whopping 5 mins.  Within that 5 mins something happens.  I see a notification that I have a package waiting for me or something like that.  I’m like “WTF?  I was got for a whopping 5 mins and THATS when he shows up??”

Fine.  I call the number on it, do my best to explain that my Korean sucks and luckily the guy knows exactly who is calling, repeats my address to me and I confirm.  He tells me the package is at the post office.  Ok, good.

So later I head over to the post office.  I forget to bring that slip of paper but honestly, it was just a generic notice with zero numbers on it.  Just my name, date and a phone number to call.  I figure my alien card should be just fine.  I get there, again with my broken Korean, say that there is a package here.  After a min or two, they get it.  She asks me to wait while she calls someone.  A minute later a guy shows up with a little box.  I have my alien card ready to show them.  The lady seems a bit flustered but hands me a blank piece of paper and asks me to sign.  Shrug.  I sign it, they hand me the box.  I put away my card.  Then, one of her co-workers says something and then she tries to ask me to see my card.

Geeze, I JUST put it away.  I had it in my hand, quite visible the whole time.  I dig it back out, and she compares it to the box.

Now, I need to make sure you all understand the rather idiocy of this.  My wife & I are the ONLY foreigners in this town.  So when they get a package with my name in ENGLISH, who else is it going to be for??

The lady looks at it, looks at the package, checks the back of my card (where the address is in Korean) and then says ok.  I bet she had no idea how to tell if the English was right or not.  In the end, I got the package but sometimes it’s just comical how they deal with foreigners.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

Leave a Reply

