Not so alone today

image

Today I’m on my usual walk and I stop to pet the little dogs that hang out at this small church.  While playing with the dogs, a group of about 6 soldiers walk past me.  Interesting as there isn’t a base near by that I know of.  Meh, what do I know really.  So I finish with the dogs and continue on. I see the soldiers have now occupied my normal pagoda.  So I continue on to another, smaller one.  While sitting there, a car drives along this path, which I thought was only for people/bikes….my mistake apparently.  He stops right by where I am, gets out, walks around for like 3mins, gets back into his car and drives off.  Guess I kicked him out of his spot.

My snack:

image

The Koran on the Coke bottle is part of a series of sayings that Coke has been doing for a while.  This one says 장수커플.  Literally “long life couple” but I think the meaning is more like “together forever”.  Actually, the last part, 커플, is what we call Konglish.  It is when you take Korean characters and use them to make English words.  In the car, 커 is like “caw” and 플 is like “pil”, so cawpil, or just couple. Same goes for the company name.  코(ko)카(ka) 콜(kol)라(la).

image

In one sense it is a little easy to use some Korean and understand things.  In another its annoying because you want to practice your learning so much and get annoyed when you try to read a restaurant name sign only to read “chi” “ken” “doc” “tor”.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

Leave a Reply

