Welcome back to Korea!

Two weeks back home was nice but I definitely won’t do it during the winter time again methinks. Glad I missed the nasty ice storm but still hit this ‘polar vortex‘ buzz word the media seemed to jump on too much. Well, that is all done, I’m looking forward to my double-digit temps that we are getting now. And here we go, I got my typical Korean experiences back.

So, rough start to my morning. First, the hotel driver doesn’t pick me up at 10am like he said. So I grab a taxi at 1015 and will bitch at them for that cost. Not that I suspect it’ll do much….things are that much more difficult for us foreigners here.

Then I find out that my 10:30 bus is sold out. Ugh. Ok, I ask for the next one, 1:20pm. She says it goes to some place in the city I need but not either of the two bus terminals. I hand her my tablet with map and ask where. She is confused and just repeats the name. Ohhh, I am so back home now…..

Ok, so I now need someone who can speak Korean better than me. I Call the free translation help line…..on hold forever. I try one of my Korean friends….no answer, I try one of my foreigner friends who speaks Korean pretty well, no answer. I try my Korean friend who looked after my cat while I was away….no answer. Dafuq is this? No one answering?? I try another foreigner friend who is really good at Korean…..success! He’s home. I hand the phone over to the agent. They speak, I hear her repeat the area again and after a few mins she hands me the phone. My friend tells me she can’t tell him where it is, just repeats the area. I say thanks and try something else.

I hand her my tablet but I already have the map open and the city name typed, I then ask her to type the name she keeps repeating. Map opens up and I know where it is, just didn’t know the name. Geeze. I get my ticket and head to the Starbucks to kill a couple of hours till the bus leaves.

So good to be home again….mostly.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

6 thoughts on “Welcome back to Korea!”

    1. Yes, had a good time. Got to do some of the things I miss, like going to a wrecking yard, pulling parts off cars, then installing them. (I’m one of those rare hybrid computer/car guys…..I’ve rebuilt engines as well as computers). I hit almost every restaurant on my list ( just missed Hutch’s) and got to see my friend play at a bar (http://famousframus.com). There were quite a few people I didn’t get a chance to see, ago next time I’ll try again.

      1. Haha! Rare indeed. I didn’t even know your species existed! Glad you enjoyed yourself. :) When I lived on the Quebec side of the border, one of the things that always struck me about coming back to Ontario was finding it amazing to overhear people in restaurants and in public in general, speaking in English. Did you find that too? Or am I just strange? haha

      2. Yes it is odd when we hear people speaking English here, mostly because we aren’t in s big city. And only once did I accidentally speak Korean when I can home :D

      3. Haha! When I came back to Quebec from Japan, every time someone spoke to me in French I wanted to answer them in Japanese. And it took me a week to stop wanting to bow to everyone!

Leave a Reply

