How blind people beg on subways

Beggars are sadly common everywhere in the world.  Not that there is truly any reason the world can’t provide for every single person on the planet, there is certainly more than enough resources and money to go around.  Here, I find said beggars tend to be a bit more creative.  They at least try to entertain you, or convert you by using Christianity as an excuse for you to give.  In either case, this scene is a common on on subways.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

6 thoughts on “How blind people beg on subways”

  1. Yesterday evening I was travelling on the train with a friend when a man entered our compartment. He told the passengers, in a loud voice that he and several friends where homeless and had no money to buy “The Big Issue” (the magazine sold by homeless people in many countries). He went on to request money and a few of my fellow passengers obliged. This gentleman is well known on the train network and I have lost count of the number of times I’ve been regailed with the same tale. The incident contrasts sharply with an event organised by my work earlier in the day in which people where encouraged to bring in items of food for a local food bank which provides eatables to those who are finding it hard to eat and is a recognised charity. I gave to the food bank because I know that they provide assistance to those who genuinely need it. I did not, however give to the man begging on the train. One needs to be discriminating regarding who, exacly one helps. Compassion is important but so far as is humanly possible charity should be bestowed on those who genuinely need it, indeed by giving to those who are exploiting the kindness of their fellow citizens we perhaps risk depriving those who genuinely need assistance of much needed charity.

    1. I’ve seen “The Big Issue” for sale by people here as well. They didn’t look very homeless to me, just like regular people being reasonably dressed, not pushing shopping carts or the like. Man looked like students.

      I commented on such things before, I think you’d find it mildly amusing too: https://eyagee.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/i-dont-give-to-beggars-in-korea/

      I have a different view on such things. Since I am aware of the help that is available, I am also aware of how many of them simple choose to ignore such help. There are going to be viewers who say “but they feel like they can’t…” as if that means every single homeless person has some sort of mental/emotional issue they are dealing with that prevents them from asking for help. Sure, some maybe but all? Not a chance.

      Then there are those who say “fuck the system” and choose their way. I respect that, maybe even a little envious of their commitment to such a belief but don’t anyone use the whole ’emotional issues’ as a broad sweep for every single homeless person!

      1. I will check out your post. I am, myself blind (I am writing this using software called Jaws which converts text into speech and braille enabling me to use a standard Windows PC). I have heard stories of parents and others in developing countries deliberately blinding or imposing another form of disability on their children in order to excite the compassion of the public as a disabled beggar may earn more than an able bodied one. Obviously for a parent to do that to their own child is beyond disgusting. It does, however sadly happen. I am lucky to live in a developed society where provision for disabled is, on the whole relatively good. I work and have a good standard of living. However my heart goes out to disabled people who are forced to beg due to lack of welfare or other systems in developing countries. I didn’t give to the guy on the train because he (obviously) wasn’t genuine but I do give to others who I judge (perhaps sometimes wrongly) as being worthy of my compassion.

Leave a Reply

