A clash of cultures

A clash of cultures

Someone my size is a nice advantage.  When Koreans do stupid things they don’t say a thing to someone who is noticeably taller and at least 50lbs heavier.

I was waiting for a subway, so were other people.  Doors open and those of us who were waiting were in two lines on either side.  Typically Koreans won’t wait till everyone is off just so they can get a seat.  So as the offloading line thins, the waiting people start to get on. Buddy on the opposite side of me makes a diagonal cut in front of me and I step on his shoe.  He gives one of those surprised/annoyed noises and then gives me “the look”.  I look right back at him as in “what? You walked in front of me.” He just have me the “evil eye look for a few mins while he say down, I occasionally looked up, smirked and went back to my tablet and wrote this post.

I won’t put up with anyone who tries to pull crap over me, especially if they are a tiny Asian who think they automatically get respect and can do as they please.  I have gone a long way to understand and integrate into Korea but somethings they still need to learn and grow as a society to learn how to properly respect another individual.  Yes that is a very western perspective well…..I’m rather western aren’t I?

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

2 thoughts on “A clash of cultures”

Leave a Reply

