A story of compassion

A story of compassion

This week has been an interesting one.  I have been forced to have a break by something that weighed less than 300g.

If you don’t follow my Stuff Found blog, then you missed the little story.  On s Sunday a while our for a walk, my wife and I heard this crying of a small kitten.  When I found the source, a barely two-week old, he was in this plastic crate outside of this business that was closed.  I just couldn’t leave him there.  Do i picked him up, went to sit nearby and my wife went to buy some milk.  I tried to clean him up with some wetnaps I had on me.  His one eye war crusted over but after sine cleaning he was able to open it just fine.  I waited long enough to believe that his mother want coming back(or couldn’t) so i had no choice but to take of him.

image

I have never been a father but I have an idea what its like to get sleep in 2 – 4hr slots now and wouldn’t you know it, Wednesday morning the little guy learned how to pounce…..at 4am. We never really have him a name but I just called him Dude. I kinda wanted to call him Velcro because just stuck to the towel everyone I tried to reposition him while feeding.

image

At first we only had a dropper to feed him with. It was a hell of a lot of work to line that up right each time and when he was trying to find it while I was trying to give it too him….well, let’s just say it would be easier to land a 747 on top of Mt Everest without crashing. Some times i had to just grab his head to hold it still so I could feed him. And could he scream when he was hungry! You’d think we were doing something horrible! Gradually the noises died in direct proportion to the level of fullness he was feeling.

As for what i have him, well its not like there was anything open on Sunday soall he got was warm milk. we went to see the very on Monday and after a cursory glance, very said he was fine but suggested some eye drops. I suspect it was just saltwater for the $3 he charged me, the visit was free. The very said he could eat on his own now and to soak cat food in milk.

There is a side to this story that was very upsetting. My current cat was NOT happy about this little interloper. Not only was it foreign, it was also taking up his spot on the bed! I likened this Garfield and Nermal.

image

I tried my best to give our cat attention and she did appreciate it but that didn’t make her tolerate the kitten any more really.

So, after putting the word out on my blog, twitter, Kakao Story, we finally found someone who could take the little guy and raise him properly.

While I was waiting at the bus stop, I had the little guy in a small box on the table in front of me. He was quite the attraction. At one point he was just looking up and starting at me. It was a very serious stare! It was like he was saying “Thank you for finding me. Thank you for caring for me. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for my life!” A truly touching moment.

The little guy with his new mom.

image

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

4 thoughts on “A story of compassion”

  1. Such an amazing story. Thank you for sharing this. I’m so happy he’s safe and well taken care of. Good job. I love hearing about people saving animals and giving them a new lease on life. *Salute* I wish the world had more people like you in it.

Leave a Reply

