I don’t give to beggars in Korea

The subway is a prime target for beggars to do their act to get money from people.  Today I saw another example of how this really doesn’t work. Allow me too explain the first time I saw something that jaded me so.

About a year and a half ago I was waiting for a subway. I saw this scruffy-looking guy walk by carrying a piece of styrofoam that he was kinda using to carry things on, he looked kinda happy. I thought it was odd but hey, not like that’s anything new here really. Soon the subway comes and I get on. After 15mins I see this same scruffy get come into my car, shuffling along the floor with this expression of pain and sorrow that his life is so bad. I thought, wow, that is really pathetic.

So today’s beggar is a blind guy. You know he’s blind because first you hear the cheesy Korean music playing from the radio hanging from his neck (or attached to his belt) and his eyes are closed. He’s kinda shuffling his feet along the floor, taking care to use his walking stick a whopping 2″ in front of him. He never bumps into any one and he never falls when the train jerks in a system way. This guy was a prime candidate for an act and he was working so hard that within the space of 10ft, he had to wipe his brow, twice, on the well air conditioned train.

Yeahhhhh, not buying it.

Also, when you see a beggar wearing $150 running shoes, not gonna buy that either.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

9 thoughts on “I don’t give to beggars in Korea”

  1. Tell you the truth, I don’t give to beggers anywhere…doesn’t sound nice, but what you’ve described I’ve seen happen all over the countries I’ve visited and here in Italy.

  2. The guy you describe certainly sounds as though he was pretending to be blind which (if he was putting on an act is disgusting). However there are genuine cases of people who, for whatever reason are down on their luck and I do, on occasions give to beggars but by no means all the time. Idealy I prefer to give to charities registered with the UK Charity Commission as I know that my donation is going to help someone who is in genuine need rather than someone who is, as we say in the UK “swinging the lead”. Kevin

Leave a Reply

