#Korean subway experiences

Seriously….what the hell?

I’ve had some odd Korean experiences on the subway and this trip certainly is no exception!

Sitting on the subway and this Ajoshi(older Korean man) decides he wants to see what my jeans feel like.  No, not creepy at all eh?  Now, luckily he only pinched the part that was creased out and did not touch me at all, and if i wasn’t looking, I would never have known..but really…personal space people!

Then there was the punk kid who kept pushing against my back.  It was getting annoying and being 50lbs heavier than him, I wasn’t budging.  When I got close to my stop, I turned around and saw why.  He was afraid of touching the girl (with her boyfriend near) more than he was the wagook that was twice the size.  Seriously, its a subway, in a busy city.  Get over your anxieties people!

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

3 thoughts on “#Korean subway experiences”

  1. Or have you ever been elbowed by the Ajummas who own the street and subway stations? Koreans used to mistake me for a local which only meant they didnt feel the apprehension the usually did while interacting with a foreigner, so I was subject to even more personal space violations….like when I was at the super market trying to reach for something on the shelf and this korean man decided to slide his body between me and the shelf to reach for something on one of the lower shelves. Apparently 3 seconds worth of time he would have spent waiting for me to reach for my item is worth violating my personal space. Oh the things I DO NOT MISS about living in Seoul.

    1. Heh, well since I am a reasonable size bigger, I don’t bothered too much. Once in awhile some ajosshi gets all uppity with me when sitting beside me.

Leave a Reply

