The coolest thing about Travelling and my Birth Day

This post will cover South Korea but in reality, it’s about people.

I realized something important when we went to Thailand in 2011.  Sure petting a tiger is pretty awesome but nothing compared to the people we met.  We met this girl, her name was Merav.  She had been traveling for quite a few months in Asia and still have more to do.  We found out that she was from Israel and is a dance performer.  We had an awesome time sitting and chatting with her.

Chatting in Thailand

When we went to Indonesia, we went to visit from people who my wife met the first time she came to visit South Korea.  We had the hardest time paying for anything while we were there!  I had to sneak away from the table once to pay for our dinner and they were shocked that I did so.  The Kindness that we found in a Muslim country was unparalleled.

Chilling at a cafe in Jakarta

In South Korea here, we have met friends that will be so till the day we die.  This next person is Ahyoung.  An extremely pleasant person who has gone out of her way to make us feel welcome here.  When she worked at a coffee shop in Itaewon, she invited us there for breakfast, before the place was officially opened, made us breakfast, coffees and didn’t charge us a dime!  We were stunned.

Ahyoung, which should mean ‘awesome’ in Korean :)
The awesome brunch she made!

Today we went to a Korean BBQ place (lovingly called Meat Home) to celebrate my birthday with friends.

MY kinda place!!

Everyone who was here was a completely new friend to us and we have damn good food at this $14, all-you-can-eat Korean BBQ place.

To re-quote the famous Homer Simpson line: “MMmmmm…..Bar-Be-Que…..”
That reddish-orange sauce is awesome!
From left to right: Mina, Olivia(blonde hair little girl), Jamie, and her husband Brand. And if you look close, you can see a few fingers from Clifton :)

These people, whom I have only met just once, were kind enough to join us for supper and even got me the beset cake I have had since I’ve been in Korea!

Chocolate, with some chocolate topped off with shaved chocolate :)~
Quick! Not sure how long I can hold back that hand!
Obligatory candle shot.
Cake innards!

We still haven’t even got to the coolest part yet :)  See, those who know me, know how much I love Dragons.  I was a little saddened to find out that, despite being distantly related to the Chinese, Koreans have very little Dragons as far as imagery goes in their culture.  You’ll find some images at Buddhist Temples but not much beyond that.  My wife met a foreigner here who bakes cookies.  Not just any cookies but once that are damn near hard to eat because they are so damn artistically beautiful works!

Hand drawn icing designs!
He’s bigger than the previous 3 put together!

This is what I mean by the people we meet.  The skills that I have seen in these people are simply stunning and awe-inspiring!

The people I have shown here are by NO means complete.  I’d be here for a week solid if I tried to write out every single person we have met and became friends with!

So, if you have never traveled outside of your own country, you are SERIOUSLY missing out.  If you have a child that is thinking of college/university, then open their minds and soul to studying abroad!  They will get a great education that goes beyond the textbooks and will give them a perspective on the world that is impossible to be had by staying in their own country.

Thank you everyone we have ever met!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

8 thoughts on “The coolest thing about Travelling and my Birth Day”

    1. Thanks and it was awesome. I still have some concerns over eating the cookies. They are just beautiful works of art! I make sure I honour the work before I eat them….have only eaten one of the Dragons….

  1. Hey!!!! Sorry for being such a cow and only saying Happy Birthday now! Awww, it seems like you had a hell if a great time and Im stunned by people’s friendliness and hospitality! Wow! I guess people in UK are polite and friendly, but hardly as amazing! At all! Email me your address, I’ll send you birthday gifts :D lol

    1. You know, it’s kinda funny. Canadians are pretty well known for being nice people but when you get to be friends with an Asian, we pale in comparison. Kinda gets me to think “Heyy! We’re the nice people! What do you think you are doing by being over-the-top nicer than us!” :D

  2. I love to read your blog.. Happy birthday.. although it’s too late.. :)
    I am from Indonesia..
    it’s such a kind of manner in some indonesian people to pay first when we have a guest..
    I love korea and I want to know more about it..
    although I’ve never visit there..

    come and visit indonesia more.. we have a lot of different culture and beautiful place to see.. :)

Leave a Reply

