A couple of Korean experiences for you

Being in Korea, there never seems to be an end to the odd and/or annoying things that you find.  Allow me to tell you about packaging and random phone calls.

First packaging.  After opening chocolate bars and bags of chips a certain way for the vast majority of my life, ot had become one of those automatic skills that you take for granted.  Like how you automatically adjust your body on a moving surface that changes inclines.  You don’t think about standing upright, your body just does it.  It is built in.  Yet when it comes to Korean packaging, you simply can not pull apart the ends like you do on a bag of chips or a chocolate bar.  You can only tear it.

image
Korean version of a Mars bar

For some reason, Korea has seen fit to use f#&!=+* super glue for their packaging and it gets me every time.  I buy something, try to open it and go “WTF?!”  Then I remember where I am and have to tear it open, not pull.  Super annoying.

Now, let’s talk about random phone calls.  Tell me, if you called a friend but got someone who did not speak your language on the other end, would you stay on the phone and keep asking for that person?  I didn’t think so.  I got a random call today, and answered the phone like I normally do. “Hello?”(clue #1).  The other person said the Korean version of hello (which is different than what you say to someone on the street/in person .  I forget what it means at the moment.)  I said hello again and he asked something in Korean.  I believe it was a persons name.  It kinda sounded like my Korean nickname.  So I said that I only speak a little Korean (in Korean)(clued #2) asked if that was the name.  He repeated the name again and my brain, still being a little slow at processing Korean, made me pause.  Then he said that ‘hello’ again.  I automatically repeated “hello”(clue #3 that you are not speaking to a Korean person and most likely the person you are looking for is not there).  He repeated the name again and I said there its no person here named that.

That was the longest random phone call i every had.  Usually when they hear English, they just hang up.  Not this guy though.  He wanted to hear a definite “아니요”(no in Korean, pronounced ah-nee-yo).

So there you have it.  I have taught you about Korean packaging and how to say “no” in Korean to a person on a random phone call. :)

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

7 thoughts on “A couple of Korean experiences for you”

  1. LOL…it’s really great travelling the world, and packaging is just as crazy in Italy…when I’m home I pull out the sissors…when i went on a visit to my sister in the U.S. it was like a miracle to just pull a package open….Thanks for the memories.

Leave a Reply

