Seat belts in #Korea

The further away you get from “civilized” society (in other words, the modernization attempts at older cultures) the looser the rules become with regards to law.

In Canada there are zero exceptions to the seat belt law.  Zero.  If you are in a car and it is on a public road, you are mandated by law to wear a seat belt.

In Korea, only the people in the front seat are required to wear a seat belt, at least that’s what we keep being told.  Just make this insane lack of thought that went into the law a significant point, when a family goes on a trip, where do the children sit?  Same place in Canada as they do in Korea….the back seat.  I have seen no end of kids wandering around the back if a car or SUV.  Hell, I’ve seen a kid sticking his head out the sunroof, all  while the vehicle was in motion….on a public street.

In Canada, specifically Ontario, there is are inter-city busses and I have never once worn a seat before in one of them.  They simply do not exist.  I do believe that had to do with the odds of such large vehicles ever being in an accident, where you would need one, are pretty low. Yet, here I am on Korea, having to wear a seatbelt on an inter-city bus.

image

There seems to be some consistency issues with the laws here….

This shows the degradation of respect for the laws that goes with converting native cultures into modern standards, I’ve seen whole families on mopeds in Thailand and saw one lady riding “side-saddle” as a passenger there.

To borrow a SciFi acronym, YAKI (Yet Another Korean Inconsistency).

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

6 thoughts on “Seat belts in #Korea”

  1. I think the law does require to wear seatbelt in the back seat of personal vehicle. But it’s not as strict as the one of front seat and cops hardly give you a ticket for not wearing a seatbelt in the back. I think traffic laws in general are way loser in Korea than U.S, and maybe North America to include Canada. But I’ve lived in England and France where people didn’t observe laws much, but way lesser crimes were committed at least compared to U.S.

  2. Haha. Nice! Guess what, I thought I was gonna say that everytime I go to Korea but after moving to Los Angeles, I dream about driving in Seoul. Believe me. It’s the living hell! And car is like an air in this city. You can’t do anything w/o a car. Ugh!

    1. Yeah, things are too spead out compared to here. And what’s funny is that the perception of distance is completely different. When I told my Korean friends that I was moving aobut 5 hours away they all said “Oooh, that’s very far!” HA! 5hrs driving from my hometown in Canada will barely get me to the border of my province!

  3. At home in Canada, cab drivers and passengers never wear seat belts. I think the cops leave them alone out of professional courtesy. I’ve also noticed that the taxis here have TV’s in the front which is completely illegal at home.

    1. OH I know about Taxis back home. Was more speaking towards personal transportation and a little on the public. And yeah, the TV thing here is ludicrous. I once saw a lady in her car, trying to squeeze by a stopped public bus(that I was on and watching her) while people are trying to get off and she is also watching her TV. Just sad.

Leave a Reply

