Eager #Koreans

Some Koreans are extremely eager to use their English.  As I was making my way back to my place, I stopped in a store to grab something to drink.  I greeted the Korean store worker in Korean and he said ‘hi’.  As I walked past him he said something in English that I couldn’t understand.  I obviously looked confused so he repeated it.  Then he said something else, in English but didn’t get it.  As my brain slowly grasped the sounds, the last thing he said was “PGA”.  Then immediately I knew what the horribly accented English sentence he said.  “I am future Golfer.”  Obviously he is a beginner at English, despite looking in his early 20s(maybe late teens at best) because right after you learn ‘hello, my name is…’ you usually get into jobs.

Wow, it’s amazing the skills you have to learn beyond the language itself.  I tried to mention the language-exchange club that I run but I guess that was too much for him to grasp.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

Leave a Reply

