Internet in #Korea

I’m afraid I have been spoiled…even on the cheap plan.  We are paying a whopping $20/month (3 year plan) and my speed is about 5 times faster than the fastest internet I could get when I was back in Canada where it was costing me $80/month.  So in essence, I am getting 20 times the value on the cheapest plan.  This is rated at 50Mb/second.  Just so we are clear.  That is MegaBITS(Mb) and NOT MegaBYTES(MB).  To put it in layman terms, an average DVD could technically be downloaded in about 2 minutes(assuming a 700MB file size).  Remember, this is their cheapest plan!  Next step up would be 100MB/s which means a DVD could be downloaded in 1 minute.

Now, moving is interesting.  Koreans are really good at customer service and it is pretty top-notch here.  We had to put our internet on hold until we have an address of our new place.   Our provider (KT, Korean only) allows you to put your Internet on hold up to 3 times in one year and for a maximum of 90 days each time.  Way more than most people need I think but awfully damn handy if you are a person who travels a lot for work/pleasure.  So with a bit of language-fumbling around, a few phone calls to friends and/or translation service, we managed to put our internet on hold and then go to the local office here and tell them our new address.

Today the Internet guy comes and apparently he can’t use the current setup.  He has to run a line to our place.

Now, I have to take a break and explain the construction of apartments here for a moment.  Remember that post where I briefly touched on the extreme conservatism that is pervasive here in Korea?  Well that idea applies to nearly everything here and I DO mean everything.  Including the construction of buildings.  In order for the technician to run a cable to our place, it literally will run from the top of the building, along the outside of the wall, and he has to drill a hole and feed it inside to our apartment.  Typically they drill holes through the vinyl frame of the windows and just seal it up with silicone.

Now, he asked me if it was ok to do this.  Well, I can’t just say yes because I’m not the owner of the building.  I have to get permission.  Sure it is probably just fine but I am not going to just assume that.  Koreans(Asians in general?) don’t like you doing things without asking first.  Even if you know they will say yes, they want the opportunity to be able to give you permission.

So now I have to wait and go through a long chain of people to get this number so permission can be had.  The chain, in case you were wondering, goes like this: Me -> Wife -> Supervisor -> Owner.  At lest, I hope it’s only this short.  At least we’ll have the number for next time, should anything come up again.  We will see what happens on Monday when he comes back.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

1 thought on “Internet in #Korea”

Leave a Reply

