Korea & SPAM!

When I was younger and my parents weren’t making much money, SPAM was a common meat for our sandwiches because it was cheap.  SPAM was also what many soldiers ate because it was a cheap form of meat to feed them.  Korea has glorified SPAM.  That is probably the weirdest thing you have read today I bet and yet, it is true.

SPAM!

This is a display because the Korean Lunar New Year is coming up and these are gift sets.  Yes, you read that right.  SPAM gift sets.  A truly bizarre sight for me at least and I doubt I’ll ever not be weirded out by this.

It is even to the point where one city, Uijeongbu, has an area of restaurants dedicated to ‘spam soup’, Budijigae (romanized) it’s called.  Never tried it, never will.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

Leave a Reply

