Some things I do to pass the time

Being in a country where you can’t legally ‘earn income’ does put some limits on my activities.  So, between looking for legal ways to be a productive and contributing member of Korean society, I also try to integrate creativity into my life.

First, I am a geek.  I spend a lot of time with my computer, specifically learning Linux.  I love the idea of free and the software is more than mature enough for anyone to use without much fuss.  I, of course, go further than just ‘browse the Internet and read email’, so that means I like to get frustrated a lot when things don’t do what I want them to do :)  It’s part of the fun of being a computer guy.

Second, I try to be social.  While this too can be hampered due to lack of funds, I utilize the goodwill I have built up and make use of a community space I have set up called Don’s Open Brain House.  Here I organize events and group meetings.  Currently the Uijeongbu Foreigner Book Club meets there and shortly we will have a Language Exchange group meeting there as well.  I am working hard at turning this into a creative space where people can express their imagination.

I also have volunteered at some Hogwans (private educational institutes).  This has been fun and I have met some pretty cool kids there.  I also help a friend with the kids she tutors a couple of times per month at the Open Brain House.  In turn, she has help with the club by donating a table and some other things.

At some point last year, I felt the urge to do some drawing.  Having no particular education in this skill, I just found some simple designs and expanded from there.  This lead to the creating of a stick-man comic idea of a Knight who constantly tries to save a Princess from the clutches of a Dragon.  I just put up the first comic online today, please take a gander over there and leave some feedback.  Sketchbook Scribbles.

Of course I like to read and with the Book Club at the Open Brain House, I have no limit on books to read from :)

I am also looking into going to a University here.  More on that as it develops but right now, I am considering Hankuk University of Foreign Studies and their Digital Information Engineering course.

Oh, and obviously studying Korean as well :)

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

1 thought on “Some things I do to pass the time”

Leave a Reply

