Things you learn

Me: Hey Virtual Christian Dumais!  You there?

Virtual CD: Duh!  Always.

Me: Oh, right.

Virtual CD: What can I help you with?

Me:  I had quite an insight yesterday.

Virtual CD: Oh?

Me: I was thinking about all the things I read, especially on Twitter, and how much time I spend learning about the world.  For a long time I was trying to find a twitter app and/or client that would remember where I was/what was the last tweet I read so that when I came back to it, I could keep up and not miss anything.  I was simply overwhelmed with all the tweets, even more so when something major happened like anything significant around Wikileaks/Julian Assange.  If I missed a day, it felt like I’d never get caught up.  After a month or two I decided to only reading the last 12hrs of events.  Part of the problem was that I am on the other side of the world from where most of the tweets/events have happened, so I am always behind as far as tweets go.  I then started to try to pare down the number of people I was following.  This still wasn’t enough.  Upon reflection of this process as a whole I found a thought that struck me as being significant.  If you aren’t creating or adding to the world, you are simply part of the noise and not the source.  I have had enough of being just part of the background noise.

Virtual CD: <snoring>  Huh?  Oh….yeah…It is nice being part of the creative/active side rather than the passive/receptive side.  Good insight.

Me: Well, nice chatting with you.

Virtual CD:  You mean YOU right?

Me: uh, yeah…kinda, I guess.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.