McLean teen’s hope floats across Korean borders

So I saw this article from my daily Google Alert that I get:

McLean teen’s hope floats across Korean borders

And I checked it out.  I have some pretty big questions that the author seems to either ignore of purposely leave out.

First, it seems that people who write posts about local event don’t think anyone outside of their community would see it.  I saw “Charlotte Heffelmire, 15, of McLean” and I wondered, where/what the hell is McLean?  Is is a company? Is it a city?  Was it a region within a city?  Sadly, only a Google search was my only solution.

Now, before I go any further, allow me to state that I applaud the girl’s efforts to try to bring hope to a country that seemingly has none or very little at best.  This is not why I am writing this post.

The reason I am writing this post is because of the lack of logic that the writer seems to hope that people will ignore.  First was the fact that Holly Hobbs does not think outside of her little community and thus did not feel to tell anyone that McLean’s is an area of Washington, VA.  The next is money.

sent $2,500 tied to balloons over the DMZ. Her charity, Winds of Change, has raised about $14,000 …Her parents pay for her travel expenditures.

Ok, $2500 is a hefty chunk to fly in balloons and hopefully the bulk of that money made it into someone hands other than the military or other non-nationalist.  What interests me was the $14,000 raised.  That’s a rather large sum.  So given the amounts stated in the article, let’s do some simple math with what we have to work with.

$14,000 raised
– $2,500 sent in balloons
$11,500 difference unexplained.

But wait, the article states that “She is planning her ninth visit to South Korea”, meaning she has flown here from the US 8 times.  Having recently flown myself, and still a little surprised at the $1700 price tag for my return trip to Canada, I can’t even begin to fathom 8 TRIPS.  Flying “Standby” would help out definitely, so would having a friend who works for an airline(and has the time to go with you).  So I gotta ask:

Where did the $11,500 go?

I know for a fact that anyone who runs a charity can take 30% for their own efforts and it’s all legal(at least in Canada), but so far the numbers listed seem to not help install any confidence that a teen, living at home with flights paid by her parents, has done enough with the money NOT sent to North Korea.

I am not implying any wrong doing, just merely pointing out that the numbers don’t add up by a long shot.

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

5 thoughts on “McLean teen’s hope floats across Korean borders”

  1. You have commented on my daughter Charlotte Heffelmire and her charity efforts. Don’t know who you are – but I want you to remove her name and any references to her from your site. Do it now. She is 15 and you have stepped way over the line and unless you want real trouble – you will remove all references to her now.
    Eric JoS Heffelmire

  2. Hi Eric,

    I am ofended by your tone and the fact that you don’t know how internet works, let alone your own constitution. I may write whatever observations I see fitting so long as I don’t break any laws, which I have not done.

    You, on the other hand, have just threatened me with “real trouble”. Again I am saddened, this time by your lack off maturity.

    Allow me to educate you further, I could have easily ignored your comment. I could have brushed it off as just another spam message but when you decided to threaten me, as opposed to just asking politely or simply addressing my questions, YOU crossed the line. So, public this goes.

    Feel free to apologize and I will let this matter drop. Should I not hear from you within a week, I shall accept your silent apology and continue on with my own endeavors. Allow me to advise against raising this any further.

    Thanks you reading, please use the subscribe button to follow my blog :)

  3. C2B5Dragon Don – You have a very strong on-line name for a loser who lives in his moms basement and who has never kissed a girl.
    In me you are poking a bear that is better left unpoked. Pull up your pants from around your ankles, wash your hands from playing with your little Asian needle-dick all day and night, and get me a place where we can meet – anywhere in the world (your town in Canada or anyplace else) and I will teach your a lesson about hiding on the internet and trying to play tough guy.
    You simply have no idea who you are fucking with. If you did you would already be hiding in a deep hole somewhere. So keep playing games – you colossal loser – with no life – no friends – and no chance of doing anything with your life that anyone would ever care about.

    Leave my post on-your site you fucking little faggot – and let the other losers you relate to see what a sad piece of shit you are. Fuck with me or my daughter anymore and I will teach you a lesson about the real world and how real men deal with little freaks and shut-ins like you. Please test my words – test my resolve – test my action. I look forward to meeting you face to face.

  4. Hey fag boy – keep looking – I will find you – then you will learn to keep your loser mouth shut – in the mean time have fn getting ass fucked by the rest if your loser fag boys

Leave a Reply

