What I do in Korea

There are many people who have asked me what do I do while I am here. A lot have asked me if I am teaching, others ask me if I am fixing computers. Let me tell you so there is no longer any confusion :)

Most of the time I simply volunteer. I have built up some great relationships by just helping out people. My wife’s boss asked if I wouldn’t mind teaching some classes till the new and official teacher can start. He knows he can’t pay me but I don’t mind. The relationship I have built with a few people by doing so could never equal any amount of money could ever be paid.

Here is a prime example.

I have a Korean friend, she is a very smart lady and owns the building she lives in. We have become great friends and I have helped her son with his English along with some of his teenage growing pains. Her son & I continue to keep in touch while through Skype. His mother is so grateful that she donated the space where I have started the “Don’s Open Brain House” (name came from her son!). This is slowly turning into an awesome community space for people to come, enjoy and exchange ideas. The local Foreign Teacher book club meets here. People simply donate books (and even movies) for other people to read/watch.

There such an awesome spirit of community building here that it is hard to fathom it ever ending.

We’re currently planning some Korean cooking classes :D  So you might want to keep an eye on the site for those that are local, and even those that are not.  I’ll have videos and pictures being posted on every event!

Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

Leave a Reply

