Don “Teacher”

So being in Korea on a F3(Spousal) visa means I can ‘earn income’.  I am only allowed to stay here as long as my wife has a teaching Visa.  Luckily living here is pretty cheap and we can manage just fine.  To that end, I also don’t want to get bored so I help out some hagwons(private schools) when they need someone to fill in for a few hours.  It is kinda fun too.

In a culture where respect for elders is ingrained in early childhood, children who don’t know you but need to speak with you might just use the Korean work for ‘teacher’ regardless if you are or not.  Also, because I am a foreigner and the bulk of foreigners that the kids see are English Teachers, they will usually call me ‘songsaneem’ (Korean for teacher).  Even more so the ones who my wife has taught that know me and they don’t know what else to call me.  Teacher is a good sign of respect.

For the most part, the volunteer work is easy (mainly because they have set books and it’s easy to follow them).  The other day there was a section to ‘Draw your teacher and talk about him.”  This is what I got(kinda got the RUN DMC look there):

From Korea Random 2012
Author: DragonDon

Having a love of travel has lead me to move to South Korea in 2010. Moving to an Eastern culture from a Western culture is a wild experience and there is never a dull day!

Leave a Reply

